Monthly: February 2019


Lynn Swann: When Receivers Had Class

Lynn Swann is among the most beloved Steelers in team history and as a Hall Of Famer, he has been one of the most noticeable players to NOT have cards during the majority of his playing career. His first card came in 1975 but ended with the 1977 card. Presumably it was a contractual matter with the card companies of that time.

Now, RetroCards is proud to add Swann cards from 1978 to 1983, including a special 1974 card!  Like the previous Joe Namath Retrocards set, the Swann set adds all the cards he could have had but didn’t. Other cards shown are a part of another set or from forthcoming sets. Coming soon.


1977 Cowboys Solidified the “America’s Team” Moniker

The 1977 Football set is arguably the most attractive football set of the decade.  With bright primary colors replacing the pinks and avocado greens of the 74-76 football sets, the 1977 set has long been a fan favorite.  It is the first RetroCard set to feature this year and the Cowboys are again in the spotlight.

It contains many players who were big contributors to the Cowboys run at Super Bowl XII when they defeated the Denver Broncos 27-13.  Players in the set included: Benny Barnes, Bob Breunig, Larry Cole, Doug Dennison, Bill Gregory, Thomas Henderson, Randy Hughes, Jim Jensen, Aaron Kyle, Burton Lawless, D.D. Lewis, Jethro Pugh, Jay Saldi, coach Tom Landry, a pre-rookie Tony Dorsett, and All-Pro Rayfield Wright card!  Free agent QB Steve Deberg and future Giant Beasley Reece also get their Cowboy debut in this new set. Get it here!


1961 Fleer: Series Five

Series five of RetroCards 1961 Fleer update continues with 24 more cards.  This series features AFL players from eight teams.

Players include: Chuck Gavin, Roger Ellis, Rommie Loudd, Tony Teresa, Jack Rudolph, Jerry Helluin, Bud McFaddin, Willie Smith, Don Chelf, Keith Lincoln, Ron Sabal, Larry Grantham, Chuck Shonta, Johnny Pyeatt, Mark Johnston, Jim Sorey, Wayne Hawkins, Bob McNamara, Corky Tharp, Don Norton, Orville, Trask, Jim Lee Hunt, Tom Louderback, and Emil Karas. Get it here!


1963 Bears…A Championship Team Commemorated

The 1963 NFL season was dominated by the Chicago Bears and their stifling defense. One of the only defenses in history to lead the league in fewest rushing yards, fewest passing yards, and fewest total yards, as well as fewest points allowed. Offensively, they only averaged 3.4 yards per rush and Bill Wade’s “wounded duck” passes continued the tradition of hapless quarterbacking for the franchise. Nonetheless, they deserve recognition for being one of the best teams ever. The team finished with an 11-1-2 record and defeated the favored New York Giants on a frigid December day 14-10.

RetroCards presents this 26-card set in the 1963 design collectors love. The set features eight players who never had a Bears card, and six of those players never had a card at all. Bears collectors will love to see cards of Bob Kilcullen, Larry Glueck, Dave Whitsell, Bo Farrington, Tom Bettis, Charlie Bivins, Rick Casares, Mike Pyle, Willie Galimore, Ronnie Bull, Art Anderson, Bob Wetoska, J.C. Caroline, Rudy Bukich, Stan Fanning, Angelo Coia, Maury Youmans, Bennie McRae, Ed O’Bradovich, Fred Williams, Bobby Joe Green, Rosey Taylor, Jim Cadile, Stan Jones, Joe Marconi, and of course the old man –  Papa Bear Halas! Order yours here.