1983T Michigan Panthers – USFL’s First Champ

The upstart USFL was determined not to embarrass themselves as the mid-1970s World Football League did. Deeper pockets and wider vision were at the foundation of the USFL and the first 12 teams provided excitement and plenty of star power.

The Panthers started slow and then opened the checkbook and signed key offensive lineman in midseason. This proved to be the key that gave them the strength to win it all after a disappointing 1–4 start. New superstars emerged like Bobby Hebert, Anthony Carter, and John Corker and the cast of supporting players were also solid. This set features: John Banaszak, Bono Bojovic, Anthony Carter, Clarence Chapman, Mike Cobb, Will Cokeley, John Corker, Thom Dornbrook, Bobby Hebert, Derek Holloway, Ken Lacy, Fred Logan, Tyrone McGriff, Cleo Miller, Terry Miller, Ray Pinney, Wayne Radloff, Dave Tipton, John Williams, and head coach Jim Stanley.